Reviews

8.4
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.7
Comfort
8.3
Property location
8.5
Facilities
8.0
Staff
8.6
Value
7.9

Reviews

    Alexander
    il

    Review score

    6.7
    15 September 2018
    Not possible to stop the car even for a second to take out the bags near the upper entrance door - the staff becomes very angree and requests to move immediatelly. So we had to drive to the down street level and then to bring the bags all the way through all the steps to the 3d floor. The first room was with strong smoking smell, though the hotel positions itself as non-smoking. We asked for replacement and the new room was ok though small. The beds are too hard for my taste. Not much noise at night, but soundproofing of windows is not good and when noisy car or motorcycle passes nearby, it quite disturbs. It seems that people living nearby on the bank of the fjord are not to happy with hotel guests: when strolling down at 10;30 pm somebody approached us and asked to go back to our place as they do not like strangers and pedestrians-tourists. I of course refused.
    The hotel interior is quite special. The location is good if yoy have a car and the views on the lake are great. The breakfast is quite good and the food was tasty. Parking is free. Free water jar, coffee machine and fitness instrument.
    Raymond
    fi

    Review score

    8.3
    13 September 2018
    Nice views. Superb cleaning of the room. Free parkin lot. Friendly staff and nice restaurang
    Lahja
    fi

    Review score

    7.9
    12 September 2018
    Price
    Good sleep.
    Panu
    fi

    Review score

    9.2
    31 August 2018
    I think when I made the reservation it was still called Alta Gjestegaard & Spa, but the "Spa" part was a bit misleading. Also note that the time for check-in is not unlimited.
    A really nice boutique hotel that has been decorated with a nice taste. Very able and pleasant personnel.
    Kyrre
    no

    Review score

    7.5
    28 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Matteo
    it

    Review score

    7.1
    25 August 2018
    Service at the restaurant could have been much better. Restaurant opening times too tight.
    Restaurant was good and nicely cozy. Great view.
    Pierre
    fr

    Review score

    9.2
    13 August 2018
    we couldn't get a room on the sea side, we got view on the back road and other houses (for same price ?). But there is a lot of accessible places in the house from where you can enjoy the sea view.
    the situation right in front of the sea, the large sky; calm place. very good breakfast. Coffee and tea at your disposal. organized to enjoy the sea view from different rooms. Very close from Rock Art Alta Museum which is a magic place to visit.
    Andrea
    it

    Review score

    8.3
    12 August 2018
    no lift available
    large and comfortable room. good restaurant, good breakfast
    Andrea
    it

    Review score

    8.8
    11 August 2018

    Alta

    No lift
    Very good restaurant inside the hotel. The breakfast is good. The room was very comfortable
    Miriam
    it

    Review score

    7.5
    6 August 2018
    Restaurant closes at 8pm
    Position
    Armando Louro
    pt

    Review score

    7.1
    30 July 2018
    The price of my room was a bit pricy according to its quality, the hotel is outdated.
    The breakfast
    RoDe
    nl

    Review score

    7.5
    25 July 2018

    Old fashioned but OK

    The ‘hotel’ has no elevator, so you have to carry your bags two floors. Hottub was already fully booked for the night when we arrived. Sauna is really really small; we haven’t seen anybody uisng it. Blinding of the rooms is good; one of our two rooms had a shower-curtain which is more like 1980’s.... A beer costs NOK 90 which is really over the top, and they poor it out of a can.... Check-in time according to Booking.com is 14.00 hr. On Saturday however it is 16.00 hr, so we were 2 hours early and the door was closed and nobody was there. The whole ‘hotel’ looks old-fashioned and needs to be modernised.
    Breakfast was very good! Beds are also very good.
    Silje Kristin
    no

    Review score

    7.1
    23 July 2018

    Great view - and nice location.

    A bit difficult to get in when you come late as the staff leave around 22:00. Needed to call the staff and they explained over the phone what to do and where to go. The weekend-staff was not happy that we came late (9:30) to breakfast, and as soon as we had served our self with the buffet she started packing everything down. So no second round. Also no hot food when you come late..... The weekend-staff was not very helpful, but the girl cleaning the room was super nice and helpful when we wanted an iron :)
    Coffee was strong and good. And the massage chair is great!! We came late and called ahead to get the staff to leave us a couple of beers in the room (no minibar). The view is also amazing.
    Luca
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    22 July 2018
    Very kind and friendly staff. The breakfast buffet was gorgeous. A great place to stay while travelling in Finnmark
    fr

    Review score

    8.3
    16 July 2018

    Cosy in Alta

    Building is old - the bathrooms could do with an upgrade.
    Great breakfast with fresh bread an up-market products. Free freshly ground coffee at any time. Good on-site restaurant (tried the starter platter and the reindeer. Situated close to the UNESCO site. Free parking.
    Birgit
    de

    Review score

    9.2
    11 July 2018

    A recommendation

    Very good location, the staff extremely friendly and the lounge with coffee and tea, sauna and massage chair (spa :-)) and all-round view a plus. Very extensive breakfast buffet, versatile - it leaves nothing to be desired. Very cozy atmosphere. Comfortable beds. Spacious room. Restaurant with good food selection. Good cook. Great view from the restaurant over the fjord.
    Susan
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    11 July 2018

    Very pleased we chose to stay here as pluses outweighed the minor negatives.

    No desk or table with chair in room suitable for working on computer, just low coffee table. Menu difficult for dairy intolerant person - detailed info re allergens but hard to avoid.
    Property full of character. Friendly, helpful staff. Right by the water but in a quiet area not town centre. Very comfortable beds. Fabulous food.
    Terho
    fi

    Review score

    9.2
    10 July 2018

    Very nice small hotel. We were now second time in here, and will come back again.

    Wiktor
    pl

    Review score

    9.6
    9 July 2018
    Not a budget option
    Really comfortable rooms Great view (for the rooms facing the sea) Superb breakfast
    fi

    Review score

    9.6
    9 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews